About the Mission

The High Commission of the Republic of Uganda in Canberra, Australia was established in 1980 but closed in 1985 due to political instability in Uganda. It was later re-opened in 2004 and serves as the diplomatic representation of Uganda in the Commonwealth of Australia. The High Commission is also accredited to New Zealand, Republic of Fiji, the Solomon Islands, the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands & the Republic of Vanuatu.

The High Commission is mandated to promote and protect Uganda's interests in the Oceania region by engaging the Governments, International Organisations, NGO's and the private sector in mutually beneficial cooperation.  Uganda's Foreign Policy priority focus is on the following thematic areas: regional/ international peace and security; economic/commercial diplomacy; and the wellbeing of our people, which are in line with "Uganda Vision 2040".  

 To realize the areas of policy focus, the Mission pays specific attention in our day-to-day work to the following by:

  • Engaging the Governments in the Oceania Region to be supportive of the various peace building initiatives/processes of interest to Uganda in the Great Lakes Region and Horn of Africa;
  • Engaging the Ugandan Diaspora in the Oceania Region to actively contribute to the development at home (i.e through remittances, direct investment, partnership building, skills transfer e.t.c) ;
  • Promoting Uganda as a tourism, trade and investment destination by engaging various stakeholders in the Oceania region; 
  • Providing consular and other support services for Ugandans resident in the Oceania region.